Blog Post 3/9/2017 Final Touches

Unfortunately its getting close to the end of our game development and we are wrapping up what’s left. So there isn’t much for me to report on this week and even less for me to go into detail about. However, I still plan on going through the few things I worked on.

Wires

We have always planned on having minor details in the rooms. The plan for the backstory of why you are in an abandoned office, is that they just moved out and you are looking to see if they left anything behind. So i simply planned on having random wires that would be around the rooms. This would simulate that they were in a rush and left some of their minor supplies behind. For this I simply got 5 colors and drew lines around like they would look like they were all over the place, or in circles to look like they were packing it up, but left it to get something else more important.

Boxes

I also made a few boxes to be scattered around the rooms. This also helps simulate that they were in a rush to leave that they didn’t even take everything with them. I simply made some boxes, and then we will just scatter them around.

When it comes to the UI, it is very simple in what we have, (Mainly cause we cut a lot from it). This was mainly due to miscommunication issues, and it will end up hurting our game in the long run, which is really unfortunate. Cause now our game will be limited in length and playability. This change will most likely lead to frustration from the player.

Well after getting through the bad news, we can go on to the last part of fixes before I get on to the end of the blog. The Final Touches are mainly for the Main Menu, there isnt much left to edit and add to the game on my part. I talked to my teacher about how to edit my Main Menu’s screen in order to make it look nicer. He said that i should make the light green lines i have in the background smaller, and then have a background text for my text (I don’t know what it is called….. sorry). After that is finished I should be 100% done with art needed for the game.

2 thoughts on “Blog Post 3/9/2017 Final Touches

  1. Hello Nik,
    I find your blog post interesting to read. I really like that you used details for the scenery in order to convey the story of your game. It is clear what your artefact for this week is, and what it was that you did. You also explained how you drew these artefacts. Your description of your details in the making are short and concise, yet descriptive. And, as mentioned before, your reasoning to why they were made is to convey the backstory. Well done!

    As for the UI that you are bringing up in the end of your blogpost, maybe some images would have been nice to see so that the reader will properly understand what you are referring to? I am aware that they occur in your previous blogpost, but it’s just a suggestion that may be for the convenience of the reader. Other than that I’d say you have a pretty solid blogpost.

    Good luck with your game and your theme park project!
    /Elina Marjomaa, team Amarok

    Like

  2. Indeed it seems like everyone has plenty of bits and bobs to finish off this week ready for the final play test! I’ll be looking forward to seeing all your finished assets implemented into the final product!

    A few questions though… Will there just be wires and boxes left in the office space or could it be filled with more variety such as office chairs/tables or other accessories? You could run the risk of having too little variety per room!

    Everything look good though, it would’ve been to nice to list which programmes you used and/or any particular methods used to get to the final product.

    Would’ve also been nice to see a before and after picture of the main menu to see some progression and iterations through production.

    Overall, an entertaining piece and, once again, I look forward to playing through your final piece!
    Regards,

    Benjamin Lockwood
    (Team Amarok)

    Like

Leave a comment